Frequently Asked Questions

The COVID-19 Conference will be held on 10-11 July 2020, depending on your time zone. The programme is currently scheduled to run from 7 am (PDT) / 4 pm (CEST) / 10 pm (CST) on Friday, 10 July, until 3 am (PDT) / 12 pm (CEST) / 6 pm (CST) on Saturday, 11 July.

Yes. The COVID-19 Conference will be a virtual conference on 10-11 July 2020, depending on your time zone. It is scheduled to start at 7 am (PDT) / 4 pm (CEST) / 10 pm (CST) on Friday, 10 July, and will close at 3 am (PDT) / 12 pm (CEST) / 6 pm (CST) on Saturday, 11 July

No. To ensure full access to COVID-19-specific programming for communities across the world, the COVID-19 Conference will be made publicly available and is free of charge.

You can register free of charge through the Conference Account platform – powered by the AIDS 2020: Virtual platform. Delegates already registered for the 23rd International AIDS Conference – known as AIDS 2020: Virtual – are automatically registered to attend the COVID-19 Conference.

The COVID-19 Conference will bring together scientists, policy makers, healthcare professionals, people most affected by COVID-19, funders, media and community. As the COVID-19 Conference will be made publicly available and free of charge, anyone interested in the latest science, policy and practice of the COVID-19 pandemic can register for free through the Conference Account platform – powered by the AIDS 2020: Virtual platform.

A detailed programme will be announced on the COVID-19 Conference website in due course.

There will be plenary, invited-speaker, special and abstract-driven sessions. Confirmed speakers include Dr Anthony Fauci and Ambassador Deborah Birx, MD, who are both members of the US White House COVID-19 Task Force, and Professor Salim Abdool Karim, Director of CAPRISA and Chair of the South African Ministry of Health COVID-19 Advisory Committee/COVID-19 MAC, among other experts working on the frontlines of the COVID-19 response.

You can submit your abstract through the Conference Account platform – powered by the AIDS 2020: Virtual platform. All abstract submissions, including exploratory studies, will be submitted, stored and tracked within your profile.

Abstracts will be considered in one of the following tracks:

  • Track A: Basic science, pathogenesis, virology, immunology, inflammation
  • Track B: Clinical science, testing (RT-PCR and serologic) and diagnoses, natural history, clinical care, ARDS care, therapeutics
  • Track C: Epidemiology, transmission dynamics, prevention, vaccines
  • Track D: Public health responses including physical distancing and community level efforts, programmes, policies, lifting restrictions, modelling
  • Track E: Social, economic, political, human rights impacts of the pandemic and the response
If your abstract is on HIV and COVID-19, please submit it as a late-breaker to AIDS 2020: Virtual, which welcomes late-breakers that address the implications of COVID-19 for the global HIV response. If your abstract is on COVID-19 only, please submit it as an abstract to the COVID-19 Conference.

All submitted abstracts go through a blind peer-review process carried out by a team of more than 40 expert abstract reviewers.

The 23rd International AIDS Conference (AIDS 2020) will be held virtually on 6-10 July 2020. The platform for AIDS 2020: Virtual presents a timely opportunity to bring together the global health community and host a virtual conference on COVID-19.

Many of the global experts gathering for AIDS 2020: Virtual are also leading voices in SARS-CoV-2 virology, immunology, vaccines, clinical care and therapeutic guidelines, and trials. The virtual one-day conference will provide a unique opportunity to help shape the evolving global response to COVID-19.